Study Tips

Unanswered Question
Jan 18th, 2008

Hi all, I see many posts where people suggest which books to read, however does anyone have any good study tips?

Im studying for the BCMSN exam and plan to take my test in March. I have the Ciscopress books, CCNP Video Mentor, Bryant Advantage etc etc. So all the info is there. My only problem is retaining info in my brain.

Does anyone have any good study tips on how to remember valuable or key information?

When I studied for the CCNA, I wrote everything down in note fasion, which seemed to have worked. Obviously I will be applying this method for the CCNP track too, however am open for any suggestions from those who have been there and done that.

Thanks

Sachin

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 1 (1 ratings)
Collin Clark Fri, 01/18/2008 - 10:57

I use flash cards for things I can't seem to remember, archaic but it works for me.

ascoolasice Fri, 01/18/2008 - 15:10

Hello Sachin

I just completed and passed the BCMSN. I went over the cisco press book about 4-5 times, studying a chapter or two daily, along with lab times. I also took notes and highlighted key informations. I intend on doing the same for the BSCI exam. Take your time and don't rush through. If you know your CCNA materials well, you should be ok as the CCNP materials consist of indepth stuff covered in CCNA. Good luck

davehartburn Mon, 01/21/2008 - 05:54

I would suggest doing as many mock exams as you can. This can be expensive and I've yet to find a really good product.

I've just spent $70 on TestKing 642-812 (BCMSN), only to find half the questions, especially spanning tree, are based around the CatOS commands, which have not been part of BCMSN for some time. They claim to be 95% accurate, but this is clearly not the case. Many questions were repeated and the whole product looks like it expires after 90 days. I was told by TestKing to print out the questions before it expired!