cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VPN Auth fine, but no LAN access

jamesk1792
Level 1
Level 1

I used the wizard to set up my VPN. I'm sorry I'm not a Cisco guru by any means.

My current situation is that I can VPN in fine, and ping my inside/internal LAN interface, but I can not ping past it. I can't pass anything past it whatsoever.

I also noticed that I didn't receive a default gateway from my dhcp address on the clients Cisco VPN adapter. I manually added it though, and can fix that issue myself later.

The "VPNUser" group, and user "longdrive" is how I'm authenticating. Please any assistance is greatly appreciated, I'm not a NAT or ACL fan. I'm a windows admin :)

Config attached.

v/r

Jim

15 Replies 15

jamesk1792
Level 1
Level 1

had to pull the original attachment, private info.

Add management-access inside statement in your config.

Rgds

Jorge

Jorge Rodriguez

That's it?

I failed to mention that I could use the adsm tool if that mattered whatsoever.

I'll add that statement when I get in tomorrow and get back to you.

Thanks!

that should resolve your problem for lan access through vpn session.. try that and post results.

Jorge Rodriguez

'management-access inside' isn't for lan access. that's for accessing the inside interface of the PIX/asa over a vpn connection, nothing else.

He is probably better off trying 'sysopt connection permit-ipsec' or 'sysopt connection permit-vpn', depending on OS version

and it looks like he already has the command 'management-access Internal'...that's why he's able to ping/asdm to the inside interface over the vpn.

I just got to the office.

I added the "sysopt connection permit-ipsec" command and it took it successfully.

Testing VPN now.

I've managed to get networks pingable, but things like http, dns, mstsc will not work.

Suggestions?

make sure whatever hosts you're trying to connect to over the vpn are allowed over the vpn - if you can ping them over the vpn, they are probably allowed.