cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

what function can a 2501 router possibly serve?

yumologycccp
Level 1
Level 1

obviously i'm a newb. but i'm pulling my hair out trying to understand cisco. in order to figure things out i bought a cheap 2501 router. and i have no clue what its for.

#1. it has no ethernet port. So it must not go on a network? No thats untrue! the AUI port has a tranceiver you can buy to get it onto the network. But that's all the AUI port can do. So instead of putting an ethernet port they put an AUI port. Great thanks, the tranceiver costs more than the whole router! why didn't cisco put a ethernet port to begin with? whats so much better about having a AUI port?

#2 You cannot configure subinterfaces on the 2501. ie you can't do e0.1 or e0.2 why? because there is no encapsulation command for subinterfaces and it wont let you assign ip addressess to subinterfaces until you set an encapsulation method. So if you ever thought "router on a stick" WRONG, 2501 has no capability of doing that. its not compatible with vlans period.

#3 "but it has 2 serial ports", so what? i can connect to another router? this lets me do what? share router resources while at a throughput cost? or is this so i can give my router another AUI port,err, i mean ethernet port? why not just give it another ethernet port then? obviously cisco thought serial>ethernet and aui>ethernet but i don't understand their thought process at all on that!