Views
Helpful
Replies

Where do you start with IOS?

davidrawle
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am very new to Cisco but been a techie in IT for 22 years.

I have had a poke around this site for over a week...

Where is the 'Getting started with Cisco IOS'?

I now know that SDM doesn't work, so I have to go CLI.

Where is the basic stuff? How does the CLI work? What does write memory do? What does copy runn startup do? What is a ciper and how do I set one up for WPA-PSK? How to get PPTP passthrough working? Where is FTP-ALG and SIP-ALG? Why does inspect SIP increase latency to 3000ms?

All I've found is docs full of TLAs that I don't think I need.

I have bought an 800 series but have no idea where to start. A good place would be a dictionary.

e.g. guest-mode = broadcast SSID

After 3 different routers (I thought they must be faulty!) and 7 very long days of trying to get basic functionality, I have just done a factory reset to start over. I can't work out how I ever got it to work at all.

If there's a bit of this site I haven't found yet, please direct me there...

Thanks,

David

10 Replies 10

williamsdo
Level 3
Level 3

Hi, I raad your post and getting started with CLI is not that hard. Write memory will save any changes you made to the configuration, if you make changes and have a bad result you can reboot your device and the changes will be gone if you didn't do a write memory. copy run start-up will copy the running config to the start-up config. when you make changes on your device they are stored in the running config untill you do a wr mem or a copy run start-up. have a look at the document below it should get you started. HTH

http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/product/software/ios124/124cg/hcf_c/ch10/cfh100.htm#wp1002025

http://www.cisco.com/web/learning/le31/le46/products/products-ip-routing.htm

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi David