Assistance with Aironet 1200 (AP231G) please.

Unanswered Question
Jan 22nd, 2008

Greetings and thanks for taking a look. I'll try to list as much info as I can here, but I'm a rank noob when it comes to working with Cisco products, so please forgive me if I have misunderstood something.

Okay, I'm working with an Aironet AP1231G-A-K9. It's of unknown age, though I was the first to open the box and ap:version shows 12.3(2)JA4 and a date of 6/13/05. It had issues right out of the box with not operating the way that Cisco seemed to think it would (never obtained an IP address from my DHCP server). I purchased the DB9->RJ45 cable and have hyperterminal up and running.

I have managed to update the IOS software to both c1200-k9w7-tar.123-8.JA2 and JEA3 and log into the browser interface.

But at this point, if I reboot the AP, it fails again. It fails in the exact same manor as when I first discovered. It appears as though it's missing a Startup Configuration File, and yet I don't see (or possibly understand) a download. All of the links to Cisco software I see talks about up/downloading it and tweaking it if you have another AP.. but I don't No where have I seen mention of having to create one from scratch.

So, what am I missing folks?

Thanks very much for any assistance you can offer. In the mean time, I'll go back to searching the forums, cisco documentation and google.

Brian M

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 5 (1 ratings)
jordanperks Tue, 01/22/2008 - 10:42

Is it an Autonomous or Lightweight verion? If it is a Lightweight version you need a Wireless Controller for it to operate.

brianM_FCLS Tue, 01/22/2008 - 10:58

That I don't know (but now see the importance of knowing). What I can't find is how to determine this information. I have never seen a LWAAP prompt, and that would seem to be an indicator. Nor have I done the upgrade to Lightweight.

jordanperks Tue, 01/22/2008 - 11:19