Views
Helpful
Replies

L3 Switch Question

keeleym
Level 5
Level 5

Hi All

I have a question regarding L3 switches.

I am studying for my CCNP at present (BCMSN) and have added 4 L3 switches to my home lab. I have the following,

2 x 3550 EMI models

1 x 3750 Metro

1 x 3750

I usually try and buy equipment with future studies in mind and although CCIE is a long way off and chances are hardware requirements will have drastically changed by the time I get there, I have seen it mentioned that the recommendation for L3 switches for the IE lab is 2 x 3550s and 2 x 3560s and this got me thinking...

So to my question. Is there anything that a 3560 does that cannot be done with a 3750, or do they have much the same features, if running the same code level (ip base, ip services, adv ip services)?

Best Regards,

Michael

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

glen.grant
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

If there is it is very minor differences . The only difference that I know is that the 3750's can be stacked using stack cables in the back of the units . You stack together up to 8 switches via the stack cables and manage the stack with a single ip address , the 3560's don't have that feature .

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

glen.grant
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

If there is it is very minor differences . The only difference that I know is that the 3750's can be stacked using stack cables in the back of the units . You stack together up to 8 switches via the stack cables and manage the stack with a single ip address , the 3560's don't have that feature .

Minor correction (I believe), 3750s can stack up to 9 units.

Agree with Glen, primary difference between the 3650 and 3750 is the stacking capability of the latter. ME3750 though is different. You could look through this Q&A http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/switches/ps5718/ps5532/prod_qas09186a00801eb822.html which documents some of the differences.

ankbhasi
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Michael,