cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Attenuation and Physical Structures and Obstructions

rmletcrmletc
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I am looking for any information on structures and obstructions and how they impede and attenuate signals from a Cisco AP. I am a student and I need to put together a proposal for setting up wireless in our cinder block university. We presently have wireless and are using Cisco AP's, but the project is to redesign it or better yet start from scratch. Is this information or any other additional information listed here or anywhere else that might help me? Thanks...

3 Replies 3

scottmac
Level 10
Level 10

You're asking a pretty complex question, one that probably can't be thoroughly answered in the Cisco space provided.

About the best we can do is give you some "rules of thumb."

The reason is that there are just too many variables ... there are no easily predictable circumstances for any given scenario, aside from true line of site (If you can see it through an unobstructed path, you can PROBABLY (not always) connect to it).

"Not always" depends on things like interference (signal quality) and the transmit and receive characteristics of the AP/antenna(s) and the client/antenna(s) -- relating to signal strength.

If you search these Cisco wireless forums, the only consistent theme you'll find is that to cover an area properly, only a solid and comprehensive site survey can give you sufficient guidance.

Anything short of that is just a "good guess" and you'll either overspend and saturate the area (crappy network) or underspend and frustrate the end-users with weak or always-jumping-roaming connections (crappy system).

SO, given that you are a student, and you are tasked with improving the system with a "from scratch" implementation, ponder this approach:

1) Survey the existing system. Get current application and "typical" traffic flows; This is the baseline you need to improve against.