Passed ISCW but not happy with the Questions

Unanswered Question
Feb 8th, 2008

Hi,

I passed the ISCW exam with 946.

I completed the training course in late December and then used the study material from this course, along with the official Cisco Cert Guide to study. I studied very hard for this exam.

However, some of the questions on the exam were not covered in any of the topics in the OFFICIAL Cisco book, nor in the OFFICIAL Cisco training course.

I consider myself a little lucky in that for those questions that I guessed, I managed to guess correctly. Some poor unfortunate soul may not be so lucky.

How can a certified training course, and the actual book released by Cisco contain absolutely no study material for these types of questions ?

Should the exam questions not be reviewed and pass Q/A before being released ?

Although I am happy I passed, I am just venting a little steam over this issue which to me seems quite rediculous. The exam should not ask questions on material that isn't covered in the training.

I wish I could be a little more specific in explaining those questions that I considered out of scope, however I am sure I would be in breach of NDA.

Has anyone else experienced this with the ISCW ?

Should I simply blame myself for putting my faith in the official Cisco press book and not investigating other non Cisco study material ?

Rant over - one exam left, QoS (which I hear is a little nasty).

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
srue Fri, 02/08/2008 - 08:52

What cert are you going for the requires ISCW and QoS?

The QoS Exam Cert Guide from Odom is pretty good. You shouldn't have any complaints about that book meeting your needs.

AndySajous_2 Fri, 02/08/2008 - 12:32

My understanding is they do ask beta questions to see how applicants answer the questions. Considering your high score it could be very possible that those were beta questions that didn't penalize your score.

brianjpisa Sun, 02/10/2008 - 14:44