Views
Helpful
Replies

Configuring VLANs

ronin2307
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am very new to Cisco hardware and VLANs in general. We have a very simple network setup (ASA5510 set up as a router/firewall and many switched of which I am only trying to deal with a Cisco Catalyst 2960).

WHat I was hoping to do without any additional wiring is to add a VLAN for an AP that would be used for guest access to the internet, but not the internal network.

So on the ASA i created a subinterface off of the main inside interface and on the 2960 I created a new VLAN. Then i tried to configure the port on the 2960 to which the ASA is connected as a trunk port, but at that moment everybody loses the connection to the outside.

Basically, where can i find any documentation on how to properly set this up with the hardware I have.

I am sure i am missing many things, but I do need some guidance.

Thank you

40 Replies 40

Collin Clark
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Here is a working example.

=======================================

ASA Config

=======================================

interface Ethernet4

description Trunk Only! DO NOT CONFIGURE!!

speed 100

duplex full

no nameif

security-level 10

no ip address

!

interface Ethernet4.100

description WWW DMZ

vlan 100

nameif http

security-level 10

ip address 192.168.200.254 255.255.255.0 standby 192.168.200.253

!

interface Ethernet4.101

description WiFi DMZ

vlan 101

nameif wifi

security-level 10

ip address 172.16.100.254 255.255.255.0 standby 172.16.100.253

!

=====================================

Switch Config

=====================================

DMZSW45#sh run int fa0/47

interface FastEthernet0/47

description Connection to PIX-FW

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport trunk allowed vlan 100-101

switchport mode trunk

duplex full

speed 100

end

DMZSW45#

HTH