CCNA jobs

Unanswered Question
Feb 19th, 2008

To all the posters, did your CCNA cert help get a job/better one in the field?

About myself. I am three years experience in a technical support role (helped customers and colleagues) so I have no real IT experience.

I'm starting to have mixed feelings about the CCNA if it was worth the time and money. I'm located in montreal, qc and can't seem to not only get a job, but an interview either (resume and cv are fine).

Question is, what kind of job(s) did your CCNA got you?

cheers,

j

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
AndySajous_2 Tue, 02/19/2008 - 11:20

Having a CCNA isn't a magic pill but it does get your foot in the door. You might not have dozens of job offers but you will definitely have get more call backs and job interviews. The CCNA will get you to the interview but you have to have experience and education to complete the package. I'm not sure what the job market is like in Montreal but in Chicago, most Network Support or Level 2 Support jobs request a minimum of CCNA, sometimes CCNP. Search CCNA on the job boards you find dozens of current postings.

I will have to agree with the previous poster. You technically do not have any IT experience and if your CV reflects that then yes... it will be difficult to acquire a "Cisco" relate job.

Cisco positions normally have 3+ years of IT experience as helpdesk, desktop support, server support and then Cisco is usually the next step up. But there are always those few that got the "Cisco" job right from the beginning.

If you are looking for a "Cisco" job then look for contract work so at least you have some IT experience to put on your CV and who knows... you might get picked up by the company that you contracted for if you are good at what you do.

For me... cisco certs gave me a Cisco oriented position with a lot better pay than I was getting as an AD\exchange admin.

etp777 Sat, 03/01/2008 - 06:43