Views
Helpful
Replies

Capture Public IP Phones users name

noscon123
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

In my school there are many public IP Phones meant for any students to call their lecturers. Usually the lecturers wouldnt know who is calling them until they pick up the call and ask for the caller's name.

Now I like to create an application to request the student to pick up their name from a directory for identifcation purposes and then when they make a call to any lecturer, their name will be displayed on the phone screen. In this way, the lecturer would know which student is calling them even before they pick up the phone. Is this possible and how to go about doing this?

Prev I have some experience developing some a simple application with xml and jsp on ip phones.

Thanks

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

cronier.remy
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Why don't use Extension Mobility.

You can create a profile with a special directory number for each student. They just need to log in on the phone when they want to make call and log out when they go back.

Moreover you should be able to see on the CDR details of calls passed per student with their numbers

Extension mobility is a feature of CCM

Hope it Helps

Remy

View solution in original post

Hello,

You can mass import most of Extension Mobility with BAT (Bulk Administration Tool).

Indeed, when you log on a phone it restart/reset.

It is the normal. The phone has to reload all the config and the new line.

I have no solution for that point.

However, i have also an idea for your needs.

You have to create a XML services which verify Student login/pwd and after that send an AXL/SOAP requet to change de presented name of the line.

You have to know that if th presented name is changed the phone has to restart too !!!!

Hope it helps

Remy (France)

The restart of the phones won't cost more then 5seconds in this case. So this might not be an issue.