No NAT - Cannot see the outside (ASA 7.x)

Unanswered Question
Feb 20th, 2008

Used the ADSM to create a startup config.

Since we are not using NAT do I have to create an route from the Outside interface to the Inside interface.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
Collin Clark Wed, 02/20/2008 - 07:36

What are your security-levels set too? If they are different, you will still need NAT.

nat (inside,outside) 10.0.0.0 10.0.0.0 netmask 255.0.0.0

If they are the same, try

same-security-traffic permit inter-interface

HTH

paulkalmes Wed, 02/20/2008 - 07:45

Thanks! I will give a look.

Outside is Sec Lev 0 and Inside is Sec Lev 100

paulkalmes Wed, 02/20/2008 - 07:59

i have the following commands:

static (Inside,Outside) host1 host1 netmask 255.255.255.255

static (Inside,Outside) hostn hostn netmask 255.255.255.255

I saw a note about "no nat-control", I know I don't have it in the config.

Collin Clark Wed, 02/20/2008 - 08:11

I'm new to NAT-Control, but it sounds like it would work since you have public addresses on the inside. Let us know how it works if you choose to use it.

PIX 7.0 introduces the nat-control command. You can use the nat-control command in configuration mode in order to specify if NAT is required for outside communications. With NAT control enabled, configuration of NAT rules is required in order to allow outbound traffic, as is the case with previous versions of PIX software. If NAT control is disabled (no nat-control), inside hosts can communicate with outside networks without the configuration of a NAT rule. However, if you have inside hosts that do not have public addresses, you still need to configure NAT for those hosts.

cisco24x7 Wed, 02/20/2008 - 07:50

In version 6.x code, you will need this:

static (i,o) inside_net inside_net netmask /x

In Pix version 7.x code, the default is

"no nat-control". In other words, Pix will

route traffic just like router out of the

box.