cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

DNS and RDP issues

mbluemel
Level 1
Level 1

I have set-up a remote access vpn on a 5510 ASA for a customer and although they can connect and collect mail and see their mapped drives they do not get dns resolution from the internal servers and are not able to use RDP to access the internal servers. The ASA is running version 7.2. I have tried recreating this in a lab environment and get the same problem. I am new to the ASA and not sure if there may be something in the policy that blocks these services. I have tried upgrading the lab equipment to 8.03 but still have the same problem. If anyone has any advice it would be much appreciated as it looks like I have a few of these to install in the near future.

12 Replies 12

husycisco
Level 7
Level 7

Hi Martin

Please attach your running config.

Regards

I can now rdp but not by name only ip. DNS is not getting passed.

Martin,

Is 10.190.50.1 a domain controller with DNS service installed?

What happens when you run nslookup in command line of client which is connected via VPN then type a hostname.domainname.suffix? Do you get response? Does nslookup point 10.190.50.1 as default server?

Hi guys,

i experienced the same problem with DNS, but i resolve it now.

actualy i have a problem with RDP, when connected via VPN i can't run RDP to my local servers, i used the IP adress instead but didn't work too .

attached my running configuration on the ASA 5505.

Please debugg my config and send your help.

Thanks.

Hi Adil

Make the following change

access-list inside_nat0_outbound permit ip 192.168.2.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.2.224 255.255.255.224

no nat (inside) 0 192.168.2.2

nat (inside) 0 access-list inside_nat0_outbound

Regards

Please do not forget to rate the post if helpful

Adil,

Why did you grade 2?

Hi Husyine

i have tried the changes you gave me but nothing was changed. by theway whay did you put 192.168.2.224 ? this IP adresse is a part of VPN Pool.