Boot Camp

Unanswered Question
Feb 20th, 2008

Ok,

I have several years experience in computer hardware and software. I also have some experience in Linux & Server operating systems. Basic networking is not difficult at all either, I've set up networks for small business using Linksys style routers, switches, access points, etc. with 40+ computers.

Recently I started a job that deals with MIS Provisioning which is just configuring basic settings in Cisco 1800 series routers, shipping them to the customer and turning up their T1/T3 circuits and assisting with any technical issues. I have been doing this for 6 months. This work is very easy, but I know this is nothing compared to what CCNA entitles.

I have been reading a little on Cisco here and there but no intense study has been done. I've also been studying information from Network+ for some time now, also not intense, just casual reading.

I want some detail on Boot Camps, My questions are:

* How effective are they really?

* What is the actual pass rate for IT Pro's that attend with little exposure to Cisco in the past?

* Will I need in depth study before and after?

* Any other detailed information you can provide!

I was thinking about attending the GlobalKnowledge 640-802 class that last 5 days and is $3200.

Anyone have any feedback on this company or know of a better boot camp? My spending limit is approximately $3500, I have a $4,000 credit card and some of that has to go to food and a place to stay during training. I'm located on the eastern coast, in the Ohio, Indiana, Kentucky, Tennessee area and prefer not to leave the area unless the cost of the boot camp and travel equals less than my budget.

Thanks!

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)

Hi There

This is just my 2 cents worth.