cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Mars: trouble resolving switch ports

delawarecity
Level 1
Level 1

Our MARS device seems to be up and running correctly. Most of our equipment seems to be correctly configured and appears in the topology. However, when an incident occurs MARS does not list the switch the device is connected to. How would I go about troubleshooting this problem?

Also, I have an unknown device reporting to MARS. Is there a report can use to find the IP address of the unknown device? I suspect I have the reporting address wrong on one of our routers and would like to be able to figure out which one it is.

Sorry, if these are "newb" questions, but I am new to MARS and there doesn't seem to be as many troubleshooting documents as compared to other cisco devices.

Thanks for your help.

1 Reply 1

pmccubbin
Level 5
Level 5

Hi Tim,

No worries about asking newbie questions here.

These are my thoughts regarding your questions and hopefully some of the other Net Pros will join in.

Firstly, the amount of time that is required to tune the MARS system will vary depending on how the network is set up, and how much the single devices are tuned. In an environment with devices tuned at a medium level, it can take 8 to 12 weeks to have the MARS appliance adjusted.

You didn't mention what types of reporting you were doing but I'll assume you have NetFlow, Syslog and SNMP running on your network. With regards to Netflow, ideally NetFlow information should be collected from the distribution switches and routers. These devices, together with NetFlow from Internet-facing routers or syslog from firewalls, represent the entire network.

Just a word of caution on Netflow. You do not want nor need to turn it on for every networking device. Otherwise you will get multiple copies of the same info. Where you want to turn it on is at logical aggregation points, like your distribution layer, or WAN aggregation router.