cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Configuring 851W Router as Second Router to Home Network

natestreet
Level 1
Level 1

This should be a pretty straight forward question but I am having trouble with configuring the router as I have no prior knowledge with Cisco IOS.

I purchased the 851W to practice for the CCNA which I eventually plan to prepare for but am currently pursuing other certs at the moment. With that said, I have a "Production" network which the house uses and a Lab network which is where my Cisco router fits in the equation. For what it's worth, I can not (do not) want to change anything with the way things are currently set up. They are using a LinkSys (WRT54G).

I've included a JPEG of what a workable solution is however, I do not know how to configure the Cisco IOS with these settings. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Pretty much, the Lab network would run on a different subnet as the rest of the home network. Questions I have are would the Cisco router use my Linksys Router as the Default Gateway or the ISP's Internet Default Gateway.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I have access to all administrative tools for both devices, it's figuring out what to put in them that is the hard part!

Nate

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Nate, you are very welcome..I am also very glad I was a help and that you are preparing for your CCNA which Im sure you will do very well, study alot as well as do practice labs, I would also recommend to participate in these forums either by reading threads helping others or asking questions as this is the only way to achive full understanding of

networking/telecommunications .

"Do you know if the 851w is halting Discover Broadcast on that subnet?"