CCNA venting from a voice professional

Unanswered Question
Feb 27th, 2008

I failed the CCNA exam today. I blew it on one of the Sims. I need the CCNA in order for the CCVP certification which is what I want to vent about. I don't have to have the CCVP. I just want it for personal achievement.

I've been doing Cisco IP Telephony for five years. I've built Call Manager clusters, CRS IP-IVR servers, and Unity voice mail with failover from the ground up (server, app install, and configurations for all the above). I've even built ICM Enterprise from the ground up, configured everything, and did all the scripting for the call flows. And of course, I've done my fair share of playing in voice gateways (H.323 and MGCP). My big grievence is that I use about 50% of the knowledge required for the CCNA.

If I'm interviewing for an IPT job, the hiring manager needs to know that I can configure a dial-plan free from overlap...not if I can configure OSPF or EIGRP...leave that to network admins.

It seems to me that there should be a better way to have the CCVP certification track.

I am a firm believer that the knowledge required for the CCNA is valuable and good stuff. However, there is a lot in the CCNA that isn't necessary for folks focused on voice careers. I have never ever needed to know if OSPF or EIGRP is being used for the WAN connection. I've only needed to be concerned with how much of the bandwidth is carved out for QoS for voice...what's the latency back to the Call Manager...what are the specs of the router (dsp count, VWICs, etc.)...is the IOS bug free for voice.

Understanding voice and making all things voice related work perfectly for the customer is difficult enough without having to become an expert on routing/routed protocols, NAT, frame configuration, etc.