Question on CCNA material - Cisco Press / Boson / Sybex

Unanswered Question
Feb 29th, 2008

I'm studying for CCNA, have both the latest Sybex CCNA study guide and the Cisco Press CCNA pack (2 books). I also have my own lab.

I have searched the forum but unable to find recent discussion on this subject so I'd like to hear your opinion.

Here is what I am confused:-

I have been reading both books and have not have any problems understanding the material or answering the sections question. For both of the books (sybex and Cisco), the level of difficulties seem about the same. The test engine on Sybex seems set at a lower difficulty than the book material. However, on the Cisco Press books, the included BOSON exam simulator is set at a MUCH higher difficulty compare to the book itself. So, my question is:- If the level of difficulty on the Boson exam is comparable to the actual exam, then I may likely to fail the 802 exam even I understand well on both books' material? I'd to know my real expectation. If the level of difficulty on BOSON exam is comparable to the actual exam, then both paper books are not enough for passing the exam. What else do I need?

Thanks.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)

Hi Alex

First off no one can give you details about the CCNA exam as that would violate the terms of the NDA they sign prior to taking the test.

What I can tell you is that I also used the Sybex book along with a CBT by Train Signal and also have my own home lab. I spent about 7or 8 months going over the material and configuring the labs until I could do it blindfolded and had no trouble on exam day.

I looked at Cicso Press books (based on the academy course) but did not like them. But I believe the CCNA books (Cicso Press) by Wendell Odom are quite good. I have one of his CCIE books, which I am using in my CCNP studies and it is quite good. It is well written and easy to understand. An easy read.