Views
Helpful
Replies

Aironet 1240, VLAN, can't see SSID's - req for help

neilmac500
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, folks.

I have to set up some VLANS on Cisco 1240 access points. I have a linksys SRW248G4 Switch. I have set VLAN1, as native on the AP, the same as the switch, and added VLAN10 and VLAN20, and associated an SSID with each, The radio interface is up, however, no clients see the ssid and so can't authenticate.

I am new to this, so any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

9 Replies 9

Rob Huffman
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi Neil,

In order to Broadcast the SSID, type this command on the AP in global configuration mode:

Ap#dot11 ssid ssid-string

Ap#guest-mode

From this doc;

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/wireless/ps430/products_qanda_item09186a008009483e.shtml

Hope this helps!

Rob

Hi, Rob,

Many thanks for taking the time out to reply.

So to sum up, to make this change, we have to configure from the CLI (there's nothing in the GUI to achieve this ?)

If I enter this command, then the two SSID's I have set up will now be visible, and the devices assigned to each network will be able to see their own ssid's and log on.

Seems too good to be true !

OK, I can't test this now as I am not in the office until tomorrow.

In the meantime, following up the chain, do the switch ports that the access points are connected to need to be set as trunk ports or general ports ?

Can you think of anything else that I might need to do ?

Many thanks once again.

Hi Neil,

When you define multiple SSIDs/VLANs on Cisco Aironet wireless equipment, one (1) SSID can be assigned as guest mode SSID with the SSID broadcast in 802.11 radio beacons. The other SSIDs are not broadcast. The client devices must indicate which SSID to connect.

This doc has all the VLAN info;

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/wireless/ps4570/products_configuration_example09186a00801d0815.shtml

Hope this helps!

Rob

Thanks, Rob.