Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 2513

bswinnerton
Level 1
Level 1

Hi there everyone,

I'm new to Cisco and thought that I would purchase a Cisco router from ebay however now that I have it here in front of me I'd like to set it up. But i have one problem in front of me, there are two ports one console and one aux port. Now I don't believe that i can hook these up to a switch or something to do testing. Now I have ordered a AUI to RJ45 adapater to plug in, but even still what can I do with the router with only one port?

I was thinking perhaps setting up two ip ranges. For example one being 10.x and one 192.168.x. However I did get the router just to play around and get to learn the commands and what you can do, but I think I'd need the router to do it =) So is there anything I can do with this router?

Thanks

4 Replies 4

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Brooks

The 2513 router should have 1 Ethernet (AUI interface), 1 Token Ring, and 2 serial interfaces. Without other Token Ring devices I do not see much that you can do with the Token Ring interface. If you had some other routers you might be able to establish a back to back serial connection. So I believe that you are right that you can use the router to experiment and see the syntax of various commands. You could connect the Ethernet interface to a switch (if you have a switch). But there is not a lot beyond that, that you can really do with the 2513.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Alright,

I think that I will mess around with it just for the syntax like you said. Would a 2600 serious offer me a little bit more playing around? I figured it might be a little better as it is modular and I can expand.

Thanks for all of your help!

Brooks