BSCI and multicast

Unanswered Question
Mar 16th, 2008

So I am studying for the BSCI--using Sybex, Cisco Press, Exam Cram2, Chris Bryant videos, etc, etc. Basically anything that I can get my hands on which will help me prepare for the exam.

I am finding that none of these sources really talk very much about multicast (IGMPv1,2,3, CGMP, IGMP-snooping, etc.) Yet I hear that knowing multicast is an important thing to know on the exam.

Does anyone know how much the exam goes into multicast (5 questions?) and how about IPv6 (5 questions?)?

I find it strange that none of these study guides talk about multicast, what is up with that?

Julian

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)

Hi Julian

For my BSCI studies I used the following

1. BSCI Authorised self study guide, Cisco Press

2. Routing TCP/IP vol 1 & vol 2 by Jeff Doyle, Cisco Press

3. CCIE Routing & Switching by Wendell Odom, Cisco Press

4. The Bryant Advantage BSCI study guide and CBT

5. Numerous hours spent on my own home lab.

After this preparation I felt ok with all the questions which came up in my BSCI.

Unfortunately I can not discuss the makeup of the exam, the number of questions on different topics etc due to the terms of the NDA I sign with Cisco prior to taking any of their certifications.

However if you read through the material and understand it, then spend some time actually configuring it to get it working and troubleshooting it when it doesn't you should be alright on exam day.

Best Regards,

Michael

najumiqbal Wed, 06/04/2008 - 08:39

Julian,

Well in my view its like 15% Multicast and 5% IPv6. My friend told me they haven't got many question on IPv6, so try to do basic of IPv6 and focus on multicast.

Najum

suelange Wed, 06/04/2008 - 10:44

Julian,