Views
Helpful
Replies

Conecting a 2600 to host via crossover

ivan_jukic
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Guys,

Total noob here. I'm tying to connect my 2600 to host via crossover but can't seem to ping the router.

NOTE:

interface FastEthernet0/1

ip address 192.168.2.1 255.255.255.0

No shutdown

Host

ip address 192.168.2.10 255.255.255.0

I'm racking my brains here any help would be greatly appreciated. Any suggestions?

Regards,

Ivan

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

mohammedmahmoud
Level 11
Level 11

Hi Ivan,

The common initial questions, have you tested the cable, and what is the output of the show interface f0/1 ?

BR,

Mohammed Mahmoud.

View solution in original post

adamtroxel
Level 1
Level 1

Is there a green light on each side of the connection?

I've had issues where a host will auto-cross-over the cable and a cross-over cable just confuses the host's NIC.

try these and post the output:

sh int f0/1

sh arp

last question : any acls applied?

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

mohammedmahmoud
Level 11
Level 11

Hi Ivan,

The common initial questions, have you tested the cable, and what is the output of the show interface f0/1 ?

BR,

Mohammed Mahmoud.

adamtroxel
Level 1
Level 1

Is there a green light on each side of the connection?

I've had issues where a host will auto-cross-over the cable and a cross-over cable just confuses the host's NIC.

try these and post the output:

sh int f0/1

sh arp

last question : any acls applied?

Hi Guys,

Thanks for the quick response.

You wouldn't believe it. It was the cables.GRRRRR...

I have two crossover cables (Triple checked the pins outs), that I used but the light weren't coming up. So I checked my config and IP of the host for the 3rd time, they were ok.

So I knew it was a physical problem.

So I thought, maybe the cable are damaged; Highly unlikely as they are brand new and I treat my cables like gold!!!