Views
Helpful
Replies

Bandwidth Calculations & General WAN Help

jkloza
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to working on WAN links, i've brought up a few T1's, and worked with some frame relay circuits, but really, am limited in my expertise in this area. I've got a few questions, on learning more about WAN links in general.

Currently we have a T1 in place for a remote office, and in total there are around 25 - 30 people working there. Generally, how many "users" does a T1 support. The reason I'm asking is because they are currently having issues where the line is very very slow, when there are a few people there doing normal day to day tasks such as checking email, and browsing the web.

There have been talks of upgrading the line to a DS3, not just to support expansion, but for data mirroring to this remote site. How many "users" would a DS3 be able to support?

I've never brought up a DS3 before, are there any things that I'll need to know in advance, configs, and such for our routers. We will be purchasing 2 new 3845's w/ NM/T3 cards in them to support the WAN link..

Lastly, are there any recommendations to books I can purchase in regards to planning, and upgrading lines, I really would like to know more about the "WAN" aspect of networking.

Thanks in advance for any help -

7 Replies 7

pciaccio
Level 4
Level 4