cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

MARS and windows log timestamps

randytoni
Level 1
Level 1

MARS 4.3.3 (2636) pulling logs off a windows 2003 server at 1 hour intervals. The MARS events seem to get timestamped in "clumps" at about 2-hour intervals e.g. 3000 events all timestamped within about a minute of 2:00, then nothing for a couple hours, then another 3 or 4000 events all timestamped within a minute or 2 of 4:00, etc. etc.

the logs on the windows box are all spread out across these "dead intervals" as expected - so it appears MARS is pulling the log and screwing up all the timestamps on the individual events as it parses them.

any help appreciated - thanks

-randy

7 Replies 7

mhellman
Level 7
Level 7

I have no experience with the Windows PULL process....but as a general rule, MARS applies its own timestamp when an event is received/collected. It doesn't matter when the event actually occurred according to actual raw message. The only exception I'm aware of is Cisco IDS alarms. For this reason, I would suggest moving to the push model with snare. Even with the push model, MARS applies it own timestamp...but it's only a second or two off instead of an hour.

Besides, if you're only collecting events every hour, you can't expect MARS to do much correlation with other events that were received 45 minutes ago. There's also the problem of an attacker clearing the event log. Every one of those events between when you last collected events and when the event log was cleared is gone.

Matthew,

Very good explanation. I give it a "5" for clarity. I always look forward to reading your honest responses, especially to MARs questions.

Paul

definitely Matthew's responses here have been most helpful.

just to clarify - not having the windows events correlate at this point in time is not a huge issue (although that is supposed to be the purpose of the system). Right now I'd just light to get accurate logs with reasonably correct timestamps.