Views
Helpful
Replies

updating IPS sig using Cisco Works LMS 2.5

w.haslam
Level 1
Level 1

I'm a new and novice user of Cisoworks

I have been navigating through the package for two days now and have discoved how powerful the tools are

Can some direct me to the area to udpate a Sig of an IPS I believe that it may be in the Software Mangement section of RME

6 Replies 6

didyap
Level 6
Level 6

To update the signatures of IPS using Ciscoworks you need to have the VMS package and this can not be done with LMS or RME.

You'll need to install Cisco Security Manager if you want to manage many IPS devices from a single console. Just as an FYI, this product also manages firewalls and such.

If you only have a few devices, the GUI will do just fine. Reply if you are unfamiliar with how to accomplish this.

Hello Chickman,

Greetings !

I have 3 Cisco IDS Sensors which i want to manage centrally .How will i accomplish that ?Can i download Cisco Security manager from Cisco site if i have CCO Login and install it on windows machine ? Also i would like to generate reports of sensors (like Top 10 Attackers , Top 10 Signatures ).Please help me in this

Regards

Ankur Sachdev

Hey Ankur,

Well, you'll be able to download CSM from the site. But, you'll need to ensure you have the appropriate license. I would suggest CSM, as its the forward direction of Cisco with regards to managing these devices.

Now reports are tricky. We actually use Ciscoworks VMS. I know its not the future, but it works. It provides us the use of Security Monitor as well as report generation. If this is not the direction you wish to take, MARS is your other option. I honestly have no experience with this system. You will be able to do several things with this solution, but it comes at a price.