Views
Helpful
Replies

Guest access for vendors/clients

rileymartin
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I have a single AP setup using PEAP with MS Win2k3 IAS/RADIUS. I would like outside vendors and clients to be able to come in and be able to access the Internet as well as a printer. I believe in order to authenticate with PEAP the laptop must be a member of the domain which we can't do with vendors and clients. I'm new to wireless so I'm lost as how to set this up. If anyone is familiar with how to do this I would really appreciate some direction. Thanks in advance.

Riley

15 Replies 15

kfarrington
Level 3
Level 3

Riley (I found you)

Can you explain the setup a little further. Are you using Wireless LAN Controllers to manage your APs?

Many thx

Ken

Thank you for the help. This is all new to me so I'm really lost.

All I have is a single AP, nothing else. It's a Cisco Aironet 1200 Series AP a/b/g.

I was able to configure the AP and IAS/RADIUS/CA for PEAP and that's working.

However I have some laptop users who can't be members of the domain. I'm not 100% sure but I think in order for PEAP to work the laptops must be added to the domain.

I read about something called 'Guest' access. I thought I could setup another authentication method in addition to PEAP for these non-domain member laptops. Even though it's less secure I wanted to give them access to some internal resources as well as the Internet.

The one thing that I have found out in the last couple of days is that if you are using a radius server, that has to be part of the domain (if its a MS opsys) if you are granting corporate access.

If you are using a Cisco ACS and as the ACS is a Cisco applicance, you have to have a remote agent that the ACS forwards the PEAP-MSCHAPv2 request onto, and the RA is on a box within the domain. Then the RA forwards it to your active directory controller.

For guest access, would you want the guests to be part of your coparate domain?