Views
Helpful
Replies

Need to start logging

ROBERT ISAACS
Level 1
Level 1

Good morning to all,

Let me start off by saying that I am fairly new to IOS and Cisco so please don't assume anything. Now that is out of the way, I need to start logging on our Home Office router that handles MPLS connections to all of our plants. The router was configured by our Cisco VAR when we switched from Brand X to Cisco but they don't seem to want to answer a lot of questions without charging a fee so I would appreciate any help that any of you can give. Now to the task at hand.

Logging is not enabled on the router at present. There are 4 access-list statements in there. I know what one of them is. Here are the statements.

access-list 23 permit 10.10.10.0 0.0.0.7

access-list 99 permit 172.23.1.182 (this is our Cisco Works server

access-list 100 permit ip host 172.23.1.168 any

access-list 100 permit ip any host 172.23.1.168

We have a syslog server that I need to start logging to. I am a little nervous about volume and I surely don't want to put in anything that might endanger the flow of traffic through the router. What will I get if I put in the following commands?

logging 172.23.5.10

logging trap debugging

logging source-interface GigabitEthernet0/0

logging on

service timestamps log datetime localtime show-timezone msec

This router is on a 172.23.1.0 LAN

The syslog server is on a 172.23.5.0 LAN

They are connected between two building with fiber running from a switch on the 172.23.1.0 LAN to the 172.23.5.0 LAN.

I appreciate any help that can be given.

12 Replies 12

royalblues
Level 10
Level 10

With the above config you would be sending syslog messages for all the levels (0-7)to the server 172.23.5.10.

All these messages will have the source as the Gigabit interface IP.

The last command will include the time/date in the log

There should not be any problem with the above configs on the device

HTH

Narayan

Narayan,