cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Internet link failover

adcorbett_2
Level 1
Level 1

Hello - I have a PIX 515 in which I have a T1 line that I use for my internet access. I just added a new line and here is what I want to do:

Take the internet traffic off the old line (a.a.a.a) and put it to the new line (b.b.b.b).

Use the old line as a failover for the new.

Now I thought it was as easy as this:

route outside 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 b.b.b.b 1

route outside 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 a.a.a.a 2

Thinking the high metric for new line would work unless it was down, and then traffic would go out the old line again.

I am a noob with PIX, so let me know what I am doing wrong.

17 Replies 17

cjake7777
Level 1
Level 1

Is the pix outside interface plugged into a router with both t1s? If so check its defualt gateway, make sure its priority is b.b.b.b also. If its a switch the same principle applies.

If you are using a different interface for the t1, make sure you use it and not outside ex: route newinterface 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 b.b.b.b 1

Thanks - Both lines are plugged directly into the pix, and our router just has a default route pointing to the inside interface of the pix (ex. ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.2.2) And sorry - having the word "outside" in both those lines was a typo on my part!

Your default route (on router) should be to your ISP

ex. ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 b.b.b.b 1

If the interface connecting from to your pix is private, just put your networks pointing to that interface on the pix.

ex. ip route 172.16.0.0 255.255.0.0 192.168.2.2

and possibly

ip route 192.168.0.0 255.255.0.0 192.168.2.2

I hope you get the idea.... Make the routes going to your pix more specific.