Views
Helpful
Replies

NEED SERIOUS HELP....

Kfg150578
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone ,,,

I like to say thanx in advance for reading my post and for any reply's..

Here is my problem...

A friend of mine gave me a AP 1200 that he got along with other things he bought on an auction on ebay...

I am a newbie when it comes to this matter..

I didnt even know what an acces point was before i googled it.. but i would really really like to get it running since i get a lot of friends and family that have there laptops with then , and i have 5 computers running lan rigth now and would like to get them wireless connected with my ap1200...

When i start my Ap up all leds light up as suppose to, and the status led ligths up green and blinking... Then when i connect it to my Level one Broadband router the ethernet led blinks green as when sending and reciveing packages....

Therefor i assume that the Ap Works correctly,,, but in no way can i connect to it to try to log in it for setting it up...

No matter what i try, i have tried normal RJ45, tried crossover cable... tried to download the IPSU from cisco but nothing ,, it does not seem the get an ip address... and my Router does not seem to be able to see it, at least i cannot find it anywhere in the routers settings... I have also tried to change my pc ip to 10.0.0.2/255.255.255.0 and tried to connect via crossover on 10.0.0.1 , but still nothing..

Now please keep in mind that i am a newbie, so most technical terms i dont understand... If anybody would be able to help me to get my ap running , and explane it in a way that would be in one of those FOR DUMMIES books , that would be greatly appriciated....

and another thing , do i need some additional software maybe to be able to get in it... ????

16 Replies 16

i-kendall
Level 1
Level 1

Kristjan,