Recommendation of CCIE R&S written and lab study books?

Unanswered Question
Apr 2nd, 2008

Can someone recommend a set of study books for R&S written and lab? hopefully written by the same authors. I'm thinking using both at the same time becasue if I don't practice handson, I'm not good at memorizing answers.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
svermill Thu, 04/03/2008 - 10:10

Hey Gary,

Maurilio Gorito is hosting an Ask the Experts on R&S and this very subject just recently came up (so look towards the bottom of the thread). Also, most training vendors maintain their own recommended reading lists. For example:

Also, search the Group Study archives. I know that I wrote a very extensive recommended reading list for the written last year. And in my view, you want to really be done with most (but not necessarily all) of your reading before transitioning from written prep to lab prep. Throughout lab prep, you really want to primarily rely on the DocCD (so that you master its structure). I even tried to avoid the use of Google during lab prep. DocCD or nothing was the goal. Having said that, I do recall needing to reference a couple of my books when it became apparent I had missed some fundamental concept during written prep and the DocCD simply didn't explain it well enough to penetrate my thick skull. And there are a couple of good books out there specifically written for lab practice. According to Maurilio, one of his co-authors (Duggan) will be releasing some kind of an update to "CCIE R&S Practice Labs." IIRC, that's supposed to hit the shelves sometime this month. Don't hold me to that, but I'm pretty sure that's what I read in his current Ask the Experts thread.

Best wishes!

gwhuang5398 Tue, 04/08/2008 - 07:55

Thanks Scott. So is your recommendation to study written fully first, then change to lab? From your experience did you study for both before taking the written? or studied for lab after took the written exam?