cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

QOS planning stage

rhopkins_nci
Level 1
Level 1

Alrighty, Im in the planning/researching stage of a qos rollout. Im not sure if I should get a consultant to get it done within a day or try it myself and learn a thing or two. Im new to qos and read alittle so far from the manuals downloaded off the site. It seems there are a few options to choose from, thinking of going w 802.1p w diffserv, is this a good option? And before implementing I just wanted to get some opinions or hints.

Anyway, this is what Im working with:

-approx 100 nodes

-catalyst 4503 supII+TS

-trunk to catalyst 3560

-aironet 1200s

-vlan bw 4503 and asa

-vlan for video conference devices, want highest priority

-vlan for infrastructure, next priority

-vlan for managed wired access, next priority

-vlan for managed wifi access, next priority

-vlan for guest wired access, next priority

-vlan for guest wifi access, lowest priority

Just so you know this is a higher ed center, explains the guest access. Is there anyway to limit/lower the bandwidth for the guest vlans? When dealing with qos, is there any configuration that needs to be done on the actual end devices ie video units and windows machines?

Any ideas or best practices? If more info is needed just shout. As usual, thanks for the comments. R

5 Replies 5

pcarvill
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Rather than jumping into a technical conversation I think you need to define what you want to achieve in basic English (the tools will allow you to accomplish most things).

Do you have a problem to solve (Latency, slowness issues with applications)? Do you have a policy to enforce and what is it (Guests limited to 1 meg of bw)? Write down in basic English what you want to achieve and I'm sure we can find the commands to accomplish it.