Views
Helpful
Replies

803 Router not booting properly

iangates1
Level 1
Level 1

Hi there,

I have recently got hold of an 803 Router for my CCNA, which I am connecting to my laptop with the Cisco Console cable, and a USB to RS232 adaptor.

When I open up Hyperterminal I can see the Router booting, but it seems to get stuck towards the end, and then if I press return it takes me to a prompt, of sorts, always along the lines of MASPDE. It seems to recognise some key strokes, but not all (but doesn't show them on the screen), and when I hit return it usually throws up an error message because it didn't recognise the keys pressed.

I have attached the text that the Router outputs when I turn it on in case it helps. I have also confirmed in Device manager that COM 1 is using the correct settings (e.g. 9600 bits/sec etc.)

As you can probably tell I'm a bit of a newbie, and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

2 Replies 2

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Ian

The output in the file that you posted is interesting - but a bit hard to interpret. One thing that is clear is that there is a pre-existing configuration on the router - one clear evidence is that there is a non-default router name. It almost looks like there might have been a menu built for the initial screen in the old config. And the router is booting multiple times. I am not clear whether it ever really gets stable.

My suggestion would be to go through the steps of password recovery to the point where you have changed the config register and booted the router. You may find this link helpful:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps380/products_password_recovery09186a00800942c2.shtml