I have a remote site customer that deleted a device in Common Services(under LMS 2.6) They noticed that the config file for the device stays in the shadow directory. So what exactly is deleted when they delete a device in Common Services? Do they have to manually delete the device from the shadow directory?
Not at all. The shadow directory is purged every time ConfigMgmtServer is restarted. So, you have two options. Either restart ConfigMgmtServer by itself, or restart all of dmgtd.
The reason for this is that even though the device may be gone, it may be helpful to keep the latest config around for a while just in case.