cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

1721 Router Setup

thoppenrath
Level 1
Level 1

I trying a new post because I've simplified my setup. I'm just learning and I can't seem to get a simple example to work. Following is my setup, I want to be able to Ping the laptop on Network 2. I can telnet to the router and ping it but I can't ping it from network 1.

Below is the router config.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

show config

Using 677 out of 29688 bytes

!

! Last configuration change at 03:40:45 UTC Mon Mar 31 2008

! NVRAM config last updated at 03:40:53 UTC Mon Mar 31 2008

!

version 12.2

service timestamps debug datetime msec

service timestamps log datetime msec

no service password-encryption

!

hostname TestRouter

!

logging queue-limit 100

enable secret xxxx

enable password xxxx

!

ip subnet-zero

!

!

!

!

!

!

!

interface Ethernet0

ip address 10.20.20.77 255.255.255.0

half-duplex

!

interface FastEthernet0

ip address 10.10.7.1 255.255.0.0

speed auto

!

ip classless

no ip http server

!

!

!

line con 0

exec-timeout 0 0

password xxxx

login

line aux 0

line vty 0 4

password xxxx

login

!

end

Thanks!

19 Replies 19

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Tony

Your config is fairly straightforward. I do not see obvious issues with it. I am guessing that it is less a router issue and more of a laptop issue. It would help if you would post the output of show ip interface brief.

I am also a bit confused with your description of what the problem is. You say:"Ping the laptop on Network 2" but I am not clear which network is Network 2.

When you say that you can ping it from the router but not ping it from network 1 it suggests that the laptop does not have the correct default gateway configured. Can you tell us the IP address, subnet mask, and default gateway configured on the laptop?

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Sorry, I fogot to include this...

Network 1 (Main)

Range 10.10.x.x