cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Applying an IP Scheme

grichardson661
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys, just a quick one. I've just purchased some kit 2 x 2501 Routers and 1 x 2924 Switch. I've been studying for me CCENT for 3 months now and I'm very close to the exam (well I think I am) and I feel comfortable with each topics... but, this threw me a bit... I was home last night designing my lab and I wasn't sure what IP scheme to play with.

I decided to go for a Class C address and a subnet in prefix length /26 which gives me 4 subets and enough host address for my setup. The way I've connected my devices gives me 3 physical segments (3 broadcast domains). 1 broadcast domain between the RouterA's Ethernet port and the Switch, another between the back to back serial link between both routers, and another between RoutersB Ethernet port and a hub. I have 2 PCs, one on the other end of the Switch and the other connected to the hub off RouterB.

So in my case I'm using 192.168.1.0, 192.168.1.64 and 192.168.1.128… I've using classless routing protocols by the way.

My question is, in a real life environment, I suspect the way I've subnetted the class C address would not be ideal? If anyone can just comment on my IP setup, suggest ideal configurations that would be great.

I've done stacks of subnetting but when it comes to applying an IP scheme to a network, this is a different storey. Any advice would be great!

Thanks for reading,

Garry

4 Replies 4

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Garry

It really depends on what the requirements are. In my experience it is always a good idea to have at least 25% unused addressing in host/server subnets if you work in a dynamic environment because there is nothing worse than having to readdress an entire subnet.

If you are using private addressing then leaving spare capacity is not such a big deal.

For the P2P link between the 2 routers i would recommend using a /30. So with your network i would have

192.168.1.0/26

192.168.1.64/26