cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

help on working with 6506 and 6509 please

m-abooali
Level 4
Level 4

This is my first time working with these devices. 4 6506s with redundant SUP 720 with Integrated Switching fabric and two 6509 with one 720 sup engine with Integrated switching fabric.

I guess my question is how to switch between the router and switch functionality of these routers/swicthes?

and also if 6509s with this SUP 720 is capable of L3 routing?

I need that routing capability for routing PVLANs for cutomers connecting to these two 6509s. to make the matter worse, they have RJ 21 connectors.

I havenot worked with these tyoe of devices and any help will certainly help me alot.

how can I find out if they have MSCF cards for L3 capabilities?

Please advise.

Regards,

Mike

7 Replies 7

bvsnarayana03
Level 5
Level 5

Sup 720 is enough for routing capabilities. You need "ip routing" on the switches for interaction among multiples vlans on the same switch. For communication with vlans on different switches u'll require trunk between switches & for routing subnets to other parts of network you'll require a routing protocol.

you are right and fo rthe same reason you metioned, I am planning on running EIGRP between the 6506s. the two 6506s acing the Internet will be talking BGP to two providers.

what I don't understand is that, in site two, where i have two 6506s connected to site one to two 6506s and th ebGP out, I also have two 6509s with sup 720. I am told to create PVLANS on the 6509s to connect customers to those PVLANS. it seems that I need to create the Primary VLAN Interface on the 6506s and then VTP domian and create the three claasess of PVLAN, premoscouos, community and Isolated on the 6509s. I don't know if this will work since the primary VLAN Interface rresides on the next hop to 6509, i.e. 6506 which is capable of routing!?