BSCI weaknesses & passing the exam

Unanswered Question
Apr 24th, 2008

So, I am studying for the BSCI... I'm finding IPv6 and multicast to be my weakest areas. Does anyone have any good sources for study materials on those two areas?

Thanks,

Julian

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
mjostler01 Thu, 04/24/2008 - 16:52

Hi Julian, I passed the BSCI yesterday with 922 first attempt. I found using the cisco exam guides and CCNP video mentor by Kevin Wallace helped me out with the mulitcast routing side. Also I used boson Netsim 7 for the labs they are good as they get you thinking about what you are trying to configure. As for the IPV6 side I found the cisco exam guide easy to understand with IPV6. Any group of leading 0's can be replaced with : and if there is a group of o's ie 0000.0000 can be replaced with :: The chapter on IPV6 I read about 3 or 4 times so it sunk into the brain.

Regards,

Mark

jrensink78 Fri, 04/25/2008 - 04:43

Where do you seem to be having the most trouble with these topics? With how they work, or with how to configure/troubleshoot them?

I used the 2 Cisco Press books for my studying along with the lab companion and Dynamips for hands-on practice. I also used the practice exam that came with the CiscoPress books. I ended up doing fairly well on those sections, and I really had no prior experience with them.

julianunderwood Fri, 04/25/2008 - 06:17

Thanks for the response guys...

I find multicast a bit confusing regarding PIM sparse and dense modes and how a RP is "elected" or chosen or however it works. Also a bit fuzzy on how different multicast addresses can actually be the same one.

IPv6 I understand the basics with zero compression, etc. Tunneling I understand quite well. OSPF and IPv6 routing I'm a little fuzzy on too.

I'll check out the Cisco video mentor video. I've been using the Cisco BSCI study book. Sybex CCNP study book. Chris Bryant videos and anything else I can get my hands on.