Views
Helpful
Replies

How to revert CIsco 871 back to SDM?

elliott-jey
Level 1
Level 1

I tried following the info on this page but no use:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/sw/secursw/ps5318/products_quick_start09186a0080511c89.html#wp74383

the above tutorial instructs to put the pc into DHCP and then open the webpage https://10.10.10.1/blah blah

but the router's dhcp server is not configured.....how will it give out an ip address...

maybe I am missing something...

any suggestions from anyone on what I might be doing wrong.

thanks.

8 Replies 8

Mark Yeates
Level 7
Level 7

Is this a new router with the default SDM config, or an existing config? SDM when first installed it puts a minimum configuration that does include DHCP for inside clients. If this does not have the config, and you have a subnet created on the router you can give your PC a static IP so that you can configure one VIA SDM.

If you need more help please post your config.

Mark

hello Mark,

I am new to cisco products. This is a new router

As per the instructions on the following page, it says connect the pc to any of the ethernet 10baset port...so i attempted to connect to FE0 ~ FE3 and the pc did not get an ip given to it....next I tried connect the pc to FE4 and still nothing, then I configured the pc to 10.10.10.2 (static) and attempted the same from FE0 thru FE4 and upto FE3 nothing, FE4 worked!!

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/sw/secursw/ps5318/products_quick_start09186a0080511c89.html#wp74383

so now I got the SDM working.....but FE4 is a wan link, and I would like to connect the router to PPPoE via FE4 (WAN) port and SDM warns that once I enable PPPoE I would loose SDM connectivity via FE4....but FE0 ~ FE3 appears to be shutdown......what gives?

by the way, SDM express works and SDM also...

Do you have a device plugged into Fe0 - Fe3? If not they will appear as down. Try plugging another device into one of those ports and hitting the SDM page from them.

yes I did try that.