Views
Helpful
Replies

Secure Telnet Acces To Switches & Routers With RSA RADIUS

lewisdarrel
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am trying to setup RSA RADIUS to authenticate support staff accessing Cisco Switches and Routers by telnet.

Does anybody have any exeprience of this RADIUS server and any pointers please?

The system is setup and the RADIUS clients have also been setup using a standard dictionary but I cant authenticate I just get Access Denied from the router when logging in.

I am not sure if I need to configure specific responses in the profiles section on the RADIUS server.

I would appreciate any assistance or pointers.

Thanks in advance.

4 Replies 4

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Darrel

I have some experience using the RSA Radius server to authenticate users (though since a different team support the server I do not have much specific insight into the server configuration). I am not clear from your post whether the problem is something in the configuration of the server, something in the configuration of your routers and switches, or something in the communication between them. Based on my experience I would suggest that these are things that you might check:

- are the requests getting from the routers and switches to the server? Can you check the server logs and see if there is any sign that the server is receiving the requests?

- if the server is receiving the requests does it think that it authenticated or denied the request?

- if the server denied the request is there an indication of why the server denied the request?

- can you verify that there is correct IP connectivity from the routers and switches to the server?

- you might check for the possibility of firewalls or packet filters (access lists) that are not allowing the requests or not allowing the responses?