Views
Helpful
Replies

Pico Cell in an educational enviroment

patoberli
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hello

I work in a school withoaround 1000 stundents. We have a current WLan network with around 75 autonomous Cisco1231 APs.

I've got now 2 WiSM blades and am currently migrating all the APs to LWAPP.

We have a quite dense network and up to 250 clients simultaneous connected to those APs. All the so far migrated APs are set power level to auto, but all have level 1 so far, which means full power output.

Would here Pico Cell mode help?

And more important, would it work with all different kinds of laptops?

We don't have any influence onto the laptops, drivers and so on. The Cisco manual advises not to use Pico Cell mode in a mixed enviroment.

Thanks,

Patrick

4 Replies 4

bwilmoth
Level 5
Level 5

pico cell mode parameters are on the controller. Using these parameters, you can manually specify global values for

receiver sensitivity threshold, clear channel assessment (CCA) sensitivity threshold, and transmit power values across

all access points registered to a given controller. High-density networking is supported on all Cisco lightweight access points except the wireless mesh access points

Thanks for the answer, but it doesn't really answer any of my questions :(