GNS 3 / BCMSN / Wireless / Voice questions / rack time

Unanswered Question
May 7th, 2008

Hi..This probably has been asked before but I have not been able to find answer from this forum.

I'm studying CCNP (BCMSN now) after passing CCNA. Funding for home lab is the biggest problem at this time. I really can't afford any 2960 or 3560. I have tried netsim but found it to bring more frustrations then benefits (it doesn't run right !). I also have GNS3 but it only support routers (not supporting switches). My questions are:-

1) I read that the workaround in GNS3 is to put the optional switching module into 3620 and play it like a switch. Are the commands and the output the same as using a switch?

2) For the voice part of CCNP, do I really need to get some IP phones? (But if I don't have a real switch, I think it makes no sense for me to get IP phone)

3) How much equipment do I need for wireless?

Maybe I need to ask this way:- For a poor and broke student like me, will GNS3 (or dynamips) able to get me through CCNP study ?

I'm also considering rack time. I read the Bryant advantage web site too. I have no idea how the rack time is being used. Say, if I rent a day, do I have to do everything within 24 hours? Or I can split it up into a few days, say 3 x 8 hours ? Anyone used rack time before, please share your experience.

Best regards,

- Alex

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
Eric Hansen Fri, 05/09/2008 - 07:14

for number 1:

I use a 3660 in dynamips, i dont use GNS3 on top of dynamips. I did for a little while but it didnt seem to give me anything extra. You can put a 16 port switch card into a router on dynamips and run no ip routing to have it act as a switch. I had a small hiccup with my vlan databases vanishing upon reboot, but that might be a version bug. I keep my vlans documented in a text file and paste them in whenever i reboot my enviroment to get around the problem.

Sorry I cant help with 2 or 3.