Typical work day?

Unanswered Question
May 13th, 2008

Have been on the telco side of networking for a number of years and have the opportunity to switch to the customer networking end of things. I have passed the ICND1 exam and in a month will take the ICND2. I want to get an entry level position. My question is what is the typical day like for a network engineer in either a TAC or in-the-field setting? I know how a typical day is on the telco side, both in a call center and in the field. Any anecdotal information, or a general outline of the tasks involved would be helpful. Thanks to everyone.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 3 (1 ratings)
jim_berlow Tue, 05/13/2008 - 14:06

I can only offer you my perspective as I have not worked for TAC. I work in the field installing routers and switches. Basically my day starts at 8 AM and on a typical day I finish at 6 PM. These hours are used in troubleshooting issues, designing networks, working on projects, or "other duties as assigned". I work on average 2 after hour shifts each week (starting at midnight and ending at 3 AM) installing & troubleshooting routers, switches, and circuits. On a typical week, I work between 50-60 hours. About one week a month, I also have on call duties where I carry the rotational cell phone and assist users outside normal work hours.

Anyhow, that is what my typical work week is like. I should also mention that I usually have to travel to perform my afterhours work. Usually under an hour drive, but sometimes I have to get on a plane and that adds hours to my work week.

Does this help?

schantze27 Wed, 05/14/2008 - 07:52