cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Site Specific Phone Partitions - Need Logic

bigloudeltoro
Level 1
Level 1

Why does Cisco want us to use site specific Partitions for our DN's? It doesnt make sense to me, I mean what if you have 100 sites? You are going to have over 100 Partitions in your Site specific Search spaces...Oh and by the way, every time you add another site, you are going to have to go in to EVERY OTHER site and that new sites partition into your search space for an on-net call..It doesnt make sense to me and I hate when I tell customers I dont do it that way and then I need to explain why I am going against what cisco recommends, thankfully I have been installing and deplying cisco VoIP for 6 years now so I can use that as a point I know what I am doing..but still wierd

5 Replies 5

a.gooding
Level 5
Level 5

just a question while we are on the subject and for my knowledge as well.

how do you guys normally configure each site to place calls through their own local PSTN lines?

I am talking about the DN Specific Partition, we do still use a site specific PSTN partition so it will go out of local gateways. But what I am referring to is when lets say I am at a site in LA, and I have another site in miami. Cisco recommends that my EXTENSION on my phone will be in Partition LA-Phones and the EXTENSION on a phone in Miami would be in MIA-Phones. This requires now that I have the partition MIA-Phones in my search space in LA, and if you grow this X100, you will see the admin nightmare. I implement a "Line 1" partition that ALL phone DN's are assigned to and keep the site specific Partitions for PSTN and Features/Services.

Hi Luis,

You can try Line/Device approach

You use Internal partition for DNs

check this:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/sw/voicesw/ps556/products_tech_note09186a00807f54af.shtml

which document are you referring?

Thanks