Views
Helpful
Replies

E1 for Avay-Cisco Integration

mightyking
Level 6
Level 6

Hello All,

This is my first time doing intergration btw two phone systems from two differnet vendors. I am integrating an Avaya G3 V12 in Honduras with a CCM5.1 in Boston. I have a 2821 GW in Boston and am installing another 2821 in Honduras for the integration purpose. Apparently, there's no PRI technology in Honduras but as I was told there's E1. My first question is can I use E1 for this integration? And my second but the most important one is:

Let's say the telco will terminate the E1 in the telcom room in our office in Honduras and I use a RJ48 cable to connect the E1 into my newly installed 2821 GW E1 card. The E1 has one end in my telcom room and it's used to connect to my GW. How am I going to connect the GW to the Avaya Media Server? I know this sounds like easy to understand but I don't see how I can use an E1 coming from the local provider to my GW and then to the Avaya Media server. Could you please shade some lights that I can better understand the Architecture? Is this how they will be connected?

Avaya (Honduras)-->PSTN (Honduras)-->2821-Integration-GW (Honduras)-->2821GW (Boston) -->CCM5.1

Does the provider install the E1 for the integration in a different way?

8 Replies 8

gpulos
Level 8
Level 8

You're going to need a trunk of some kind from the avaya system to your call manager system.

(usually to a cisco voip gateway)

Please see the following link for trunks on avaya:

http://support.avaya.com/elmodocs2/sip/Cisco-SES.pdf

(taken from http://esearch.avaya.com/r/results.asp?SITE=com&querytext=cisco+trunk )

Thanks Greg,

We already have an E1 R2 which connects our site at Honduras to the Telco. Do I need to install another E1 just for the Avaya-Cisco integration, or I can use the existing one?

Thanks,

Hi, I think you have multiple design choices:

1. telco E1 goes to PBX. Said PBX also has 2nd E1, configured as PRI if possible, to ISR router.