cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Analysing Network Diagrams ..

Done_Fishin
Level 1
Level 1

I am studying for CCNA and searching Cisco sites for information and material I seeing more & more frequently Network Diagrams that instead of having an IP address at the output there is a number in decimal notation on one or both sides of links.

an example is here on this page

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk365/technologies_tech_note09186a00800949ab.shtml

and in particular this image

http://www.cisco.com/image/gif/paws/18685/eigrp-dup-id.jpg

which I have attached ..

Router R1 on S1 has .1 next to it.

Router R3 on S1 has .3 next to it.

Router R3 on e0 has .3 next to it.

Router R4 on e0 has .4 next to it.

I have seen instances in other diagrams where the decimal number might be associated with an ip address on the subnet for a link .. but this idea is not supported by the example I have given .. or am I wrong?

thanks for helping me .. I just want to get my head around this convention and possibly even find some documentation to read that will explain it.

2 Replies 2

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

What your looking at is the IP address for the interface but with only the last octet shown to reduce diagram clutter. The subnet address is shown for the segment.

In the diagram, see under the LAN segment 172.16.3.0/24, so R3's e0 .3 is 172.16.3.3 and R4's E0 is 172.16.3.4. Likewise we see under the WAN link the subnet address 172.16.13.0/24, so R3's s1 .3 is 172.16.13.3 and R1's s1 .1 is 172.16.13.1.

You can see confirmation of the above by looking at the router configuration within your first attachment. For example, from Router 3's configuration box:

interface Ethernet0

ip address 172.16.3.3 255.255.255.0

interface Serial1

ip address 172.16.13.3 255.255.255.0