cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VTP and STP

grichardson661
Level 1
Level 1

I'm currently studying for my ICND2 and i'm working through the VTP, VLAN and STP concepts and configuration. Here's my problem.

I have 2 switches, 2950 and a 2900. On the 2950 the fa0/24 is conneted to 2900 fa0/24 with trunking (dot1q) enable and working between them. VTP has been configured with VTP domain name 'Home' and both are in server mode.

I have since connected another cross over cable to 2950 - fa0/16 to 2900 fa0/16 (to play with STP). As it stands trunking has not negociated. The operating state on 2950 fa/16 is 'Operational Mode: static access + Administrative Mode: dynamic desirable' and the operating state on the 2900 fa0/16 is 'Operational Mode: static access + Administrative Mode: static access' Has this trunked or not?

As STP goes, i have set the 2950 as the route bridge by setting the bridge ID priority with 'mode primary'. STP has blocked fa0/24 on the 2900. So as it stands fa0/16 is the route between both switches.

What i dont understand is when i update the VLAN database on either switch, VTP is sending the VLAN information over the fa/16 (because fa0/24 is in a block state)successfully and the VTS configuration revisions are updating, but this port isn't trunked right? I thought VTP traffic can only go over trunks?

I hope from the information above soembody can comment on this but if more information is needed let me know.

Thanks for reading.

Garry

6 Replies 6

glen.grant
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni