Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Accepted Sendes and Blocked Senders

I am new to the Ironport workd and would like some advice.
I have a C300 and would like to set up a way to have certain addresses that are our business partners not be subject to the content filters that I have created.
I would also like a way to block specific addresses (i.e. "@news.fandango.com") from being processed and delivered.

If someone could lead me in the right diretion. I have read the manual but would like to get some advice from the guru's so I don't end up doing it over and over until I get it right.

Thanks all.

4 Replies 4

kluu_ironport
Level 2
Level 2

For your business partners, you should create a policy called Business-Partners in your incoming mail policy and have it bypass anti-spam scanning and content filters for emails that match tath policy.

Here's how to do that.

1. Go to "Mail Policies > Incoming Mail Policies"
2. Click on Add new policy. Give it a name like "Business-Partners"
3. Add senders like "@businesspartner.org"
4. Once this new policy is added, go in and Disable Anti-spam and content filter scanning for this new policy only.

To drop mail after the Ironport has accepted the message, here's how to do that.

1. Go to "Mail Policies > Incoming Mail Policies"
2. Click on Add new policy and Order it near the Top. Give it a name like "Drop-Mail".
3. Add Senders like "@news.fandango.com" or "@.fandango.com" or "@mailinglist.com"
4. Then for this new policy, disable antispam and antivirus.
5. Click on Incoming Content filters. Create a content filter called "Automatic-Drop". Leave the conditions blank. For the Action, set it to Drop.
6. Now go back to the Incoming Mail Policy and click on the Content filter for the "Drop-Mail" mail policy and enable the "Automatic-Drop" content filter.