Views
Helpful
Replies

Switch Configuration - Pls help

daljeetsingh1_2
Level 3
Level 3

Hi,

I am new to do practical implemention of data networking so have few small small questions, hope someone will help me.

I have two racks in which i have servers, Rack 1 is active and rack 2 is secondary.

on rack 1 i have one L3 switch and same as in rack 2

Customer network has Layer 2 architecture, my two switches will go to core switches for the access to AD/firewall/ and other applications

now i have created 2 vlans on both switches, nic 1 from one server in rack 1 is going to Vlan 1 of switch 1 and nic 2 is going to Vlan 2 of switch 2 of rack 2. and same for rack 2 components...

First question..is this design good?

2) how to do communication b/w two switches? is it via cross cable ? or should i use gig ports?

3) if cross cable than i have to make that port on both switches as trunk.?

currently all the ports are access.

4) which port/link will goto core switch? will this port be trunk as well?

as of now i have these questions, please help..

Thanks,

-Daljeet

6 Replies 6

mahmoodmkl
Level 7
Level 7

Hi

U can team the servers nic's and connect them to two switches.they should be in same vlan.

U need to configure a trunk link between u r switches.

U r core switches will be doing the routing.

U need to have a trunk link between u r access or dist or core switches.

Thanks

Mahmood

connectone
Level 4
Level 4

Just to add to Mahmood's notes. If you are using windows OS, then then you would use the term teaming for the NICS. If you are using LINUX then you would bond the interfaces.

If the reason for having VLAN 1 and VLAN 2 is to have diffierent IP sunbets assigned to each NIC then you do not want to TEAM or BOND the interfaces and having two VLANS is correct. If they are going to be on the same IP subnet then you only need the single VLAN.

I would leave VLAN 1 as native and use VLAN 2 for your active traffic.