cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

CallManager Call Throttling

keithkellum
Level 1
Level 1

I have a subscriber that is periodically throughout the day logging the following error.

Error: CodeYellowExit - CodeYellowExit

Expected Average Delay: 0

Entry Latency: 60

Exit Latency: 24

Sample Size: 10

UNKNOWN_PARAMTYPE:Time Spent in Code Yellow: 13969

Number of Calls Rejected Due to Call Throttling: 18

Total Code Yellow Exit: 38

High Priority Queue Depth: 0

Normal Priority Queue Depth: 0

Low Priority Queue Depth: 0

App ID: Cisco CallManager

I have run tracing and performance monitor and I'm seeing no spikes in CPU usage.

12 Replies 12

Michael Owuor
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

What is unique about this CallManager subscriber? How many servers are in the cluster? Are devices registrations equally distributed between the different subscribers? Were the traces and performs from the same time period as when the codeyellows occurred? Does your CallManager service anything more than just phones, such as agents in a Call Center or something else?

CallManager goes into codeyellow when one or more processes takes up an inordinate amount of cpu cycles in an attemt at self-preservation. In your case, it is rejecting calls because processing those calls at that particular time will cost it precious cpu cycles.

Regards,

Michael.

There are 3 servers in this cluster. 1 Pub 2 Subs. The number of serviced phones are almost equal between the 2 subs. When traces were run the event did occur during the same time. It only services phones and h323 sites. No call center agents. I have compared it to other servers not having the issue to confirm there are no services running that are diffrent. I was told a possible issue could be to many devices unregistering and trying to register back at the same time but when I look at the log times there are no unregistration, registration attempts 5-10 prior to the error.

Keith,