Views
Helpful
Replies

Some newby questions :)

m.sobolev
Level 1
Level 1

Good day everyone!

I am new to CiscoWorks, just managed to install it and integrate with ACS and I have some newby questions:

1. How to delete devices from database (old devices, unreachable devices).

2. How to send CLI commands to the group devices for management purposes (collect information) and for configuration (using netconfig I was able to send only predifined commands to routers and switches) What I want is to send raw CLI commands. Is it possible?

3. My syslog collector status tells me: 533 invalid messages received, 533 total. What does it mean? Why all syslog messages are invalid?

4. Campus user tracking does not shows me IP addresses, only MAC association to physical ports. I believe its not OK?

5 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

akemp
Level 5
Level 5

I'll try and answer a few that are within the relm of my experience:

1. I dont personally use ACS integration as I use ranged authentication profiles instead of per device profiles.

2. Either cwcli (ciscoworks CLI) or netshow. Netconfig you can send raw cli commands using the adhoc template, but unless you build in the logic to gather the results local or remotely, it'll just run the command and ignore the results. Netshow gathers the results.

3. Take a look at your syslog_info file (located in unix under /var/log/ ) and check to see if the format of the syslog messages is correct... they should look like :

Mar 3 07:17:36 10.13.63.7 2008 Mar 03 10:17:29 EST -05:00 %PAGP-5-PORTTOSTP:Por

t 5/9 joined bridge port 5/9